DAVID GRANOVSKY

THINKING ABOUT STEM CELL TREATMENT?

In OFF THE BEATEN PATH on November 1, 2009 at 4:41 pm

THINKING ABOUT STEM CELL TREATMENT?

A friend sent me the following comment and it got me thinking a lot about how someone makes the decision to get treated with stem cells.

Here’s his comment:

I know two [people with multiple sclerosis] personally who did the autogolous stem cell treatment procedure (stem cells are pulled from your on body and then implanted after being multiplied etc.- dg). One felt it helped a lot. The other said it helped minimally if at all.

Here’s my reply:

You always have to weigh your options when considering getting any kind of medical treatment.  Getting educated on the issues and variables is (IMO) the direct responsibility of the patient (although there are patient advocates who will help in this process).  There is no way that doctors (especially from the US) can keep up with the advances occurring around the world today.  Add the embryonic controversy pulling eyes away from the stem cells (adult or repair stem cells) that are making all the advancements and it’s no wonder the patient is on their own to find stem cell treatment information.

But in consideration of  your friend’s results:

The success rate for “significant therapeutic benefits” seem to be around 74% at this time which is pretty amazing IMO. SO one friend was one of the lucky 3/4 and the other was one of the unlucky 1/4.  Luckily there are virtually no negative side effects (soreness at the injection site treated with ibuprofen is typically the most extreme side effect if you can believe it!)

SO the worst that can happen is you get minimal response to the treatment, you take an advil andand you lose your money (which is a considerable issue considering so many people are doing fund raisers, etc on a limited budget in a bad economy).  Perhaps facilities should offer a return treatment at no or minimal cost for those that do not have benefit from the first treatment.  I work with one ‘future planned’ treatment center that is offering exactly that when they open their doors.  We’ll have to wait and see.

moore's law

To make the question more difficult to answer, you must factor this in…the field of stem cell treatments IS in it’s infancy and changes are occurring on par or faster than Moore’s law (computing hardware – the # of transistors/integrated circuit doubles every two years). I personally know of 2 separate innovations that will advance the field significantly in the next 3 months.

Point is, things are changing and improving every day.  The problem is (besides that none of us are getting any younger) neurological disease gets increasingly harder to treat the longer you wait.  SO where’s the magic window?  It’s different for each person.  Combine severity of symptoms, impact of your disease on what your lifestyle was prior to the disease, quality of life reduction/missed opportunities due to the disease and of course, your wallet.

There are no absolute answers…but there are people who are willing to help you sort through the variables and put together a game plan.  Surprisingly, these services are free.

Whatever your decision, do the research.  With over 800 articles, my blog [ https://repairstemcell.wordpress.com ] is a good place to get started.  The info is constantly updated and I am in touch with the top stem cell docs in the world who both feed me new advances and make sure I don’t make any errors in my info.   (btw, I don’t make any money from it, this is just my way of sharing what I know).

I am also happy to help people find what they are looking for.  You can email me at dsgrano@gmail.com I get about one or two dozen emails per day of people asking where to get treated, what is the current status of treatment for their disease, etc.  Feel free to bother me, I enjoy it 😉

ok, this reply got very long…they sometimes get away from me when I am writing and my fingers and brain get into a zone.  lol!  but there’s good info in here.  I hope it is helpful.

TREATMENT INFO NOW!

Regards
david

Leave a Reply

