DAVID GRANOVSKY

Adult stem cells fix the heart – part 1 – DECLINE OF HEART

In VICTORIES & SUCCESS STORIES on September 11, 2009 at 4:42 pm

Adult stem cells fix the heart – part 1

DECLINE OF HEART

BY JAMES EILERTheart_attack1
Vice President
Save A Life Heal A Heart Foundation
JUNE 24, 2009

When I was 27 years old I was a bodybuilder, 200lbs of solid muscle I worked out at the gym 6 days a week every day after work. Then the first of a series of medical problems happened, I completely destroyed one of my lumbar discs l5-s1. Three years later I also destroyed the disc above it l4-l5 and suffered from severe nerve damage to my legs. The nerves did eventually grow back but I suffered from excruciating leg cramping and spasms in my feet and calves for the next four years. It was hell to even sit down for my job, needless to say I stopped exercising and due to a very poor diet and 8 cans of mountain dew a day my weight jumped up to 280lbs. I started smoking because for a few minutes the spasms quite and gave me a little peace, this allowed me to work an extra 10 hours a week and I became hooked.

Four years later at age 34 after spending two years working 80 hour weeks at a very stressful job I was working the Chrysler plant in belvidere ill. I woke up in the middle of a heart attack, not knowing what it was I walked around my hotel room for the next 45 minutes until I realized the pain wasn’t going away.

The paramedics took me to the hospital and I was sent to surgery, when I woke up the doctor informed me that I had a widowmaker – 100 blocked LAD and they had determined that 50% of my left ventricle was not moving any more. They told me that more often than not people usually don’t make it very long after one of these.

Leave a Reply

