DAVID GRANOVSKY

Archive for June 22nd, 2010|Daily archive page

Isolation and expansion of functionally-competent cardiac progenitor cells directly from heart biopsies. – Johns Hopkins University (JHU) – Collexis Research Profiling 3.6

In VICTORIES & SUCCESS STORIES on June 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm

VIDEO DESCRIBING IN LAYMAN’S TERMS:

CLINICAL TRIAL OF GROWING HUMAN HEART TISSUE FROM ADULT CARDIAC STEM CELLShttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JiM5OP0WUOk

Scientific Abstract of Clinical Trial below…

- – – – – – -

Isolation and expansion of functionally-competent cardiac progenitor cells directly from heart biopsies.

Davis Darryl R; Kizana Eddy; Terrovitis John; Barth Andreas S; Zhang Yiqiang; Smith Rachel Ruckdeschel; Miake Junichiro; Marbán Eduardo (Profiled Author: Marban, Eduardo)

Heart Institute, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA 90048, USA – Journal of molecular and cellular cardiology 2010;49(2):312-21.

Abstract

The adult heart contains reservoirs of progenitor cells that express embryonic and stem cell-related antigens. While these antigenically-purified cells are promising candidates for autologous cell therapy, clinical application is hampered by their limited abundance and tedious isolation methods. Methods that involve an intermediate cardiosphere-forming step have proven successful and are being tested clinically, but it is unclear whether the cardiosphere step is necessary.

Accordingly, we investigated the molecular profile and functional benefit of cells that spontaneously emigrate from cardiac tissue in primary culture. Adult Wistar-Kyoto rat hearts were minced, digested and cultured as separate anatomical regions. Loosely-adherent cells that surround the plated tissue were harvested weekly for a total of five harvests. Genetic lineage tracing demonstrated that a small proportion of the direct outgrowth from cardiac samples originates from myocardial cells.

This outgrowth contains sub-populations of cells expressing embryonic (SSEA-1) and stem cell-related antigens (c-Kit, abcg2) that varied with time in culture but not with the cardiac chamber of origin. This direct outgrowth, and its expanded progeny, underwent marked in vitro angiogenic/cardiogenic differentiation and cytokine secretion (IGF-1, VGEF).

In vivo effects included long-term functional benefits as gauged by MRI following cell injection in a rat model of myocardial infarction. Outgrowth cells afforded equivalent functional benefits to cardiosphere-derived cells, which require more processing steps to manufacture. These results provide the basis for a simplified and efficient process to generate autologous cardiac progenitor cells (and mesenchymal supporting cells) to augment clinically-relevant approaches for myocardial repair.

via Isolation and expansion of functionally-competent cardiac progenitor cells directly from heart biopsies. – Johns Hopkins University (JHU) – Collexis Research Profiling 3.6.

“Stem Cell Awareness Seminar” Tampa, FLA. Aug 28, 2010

In STEM CELLS IN THE NEWS on June 22, 2010 at 6:40 pm

“Stem Cell Awareness Seminar”


August 28,2010 1:00pm – 5:00pm
Free Admission – open to the public

SEMINAR FOCUS:

Learn the Truth regarding the differences between embryonic and adult stem cell treatments. Doctors, patients and others will share their knowledge and experiences with you and answer any questions you may have on stem cells.

Regenerative stem cell therapies for diseases, disorders and injuries will be discussed: ALS, Alzheimer’s disease, Ataxia, Autism, Cerebral Palsy, Diabetes, Heart disease, Lupus, Multiple Sclerosis, Muscular Dystrophy, ONH & optic disorders, Parkinson’s disease, Spinal Cord Injury and Stroke patients have shown significant improvements after treatment.

Several doctors will speak about the progress they have noted in their patients. They will share information with you both pre and post stem cell therapies. You will also hear from several stem cell patients who will share their personal experiences and views of this regenerative therapy. You can also read documented case studies of adult stem cell patients.

David Granovsky, author of “The Stem Cell Blog” and the 1st children’s book on stem cells  “Super Stemmys Doris and the Super Cells” will begin the discussions.

We look forward to meeting you!

LOCATION:

Marriott Tampa Airport Hotel
Tampa International Airport
4200 George J. Bean Pkwy.
Tampa, Florida 33607

Hotel Reservations 800-564-3440 , ask for Stem Cell awareness room block or Http://www.marriott.com/hotels/travel/tpaap? group Code= STCSTCA

SIGN UP:

Please RSVP by filling out the following survey:

STEM CELL AWARENESS SEMINAR SIGN UP SHEET/SURVEY

ORGANIZER’S CONTACT INFO:

Carol Petersen
Stem Cell Advocate
Ph: 1-941-235-0088
carolptrsn@msn.com

Adult Stem Cells – Diabetes type1

In VICTORIES & SUCCESS STORIES on June 22, 2010 at 2:44 pm

Great article and great site written by the mother of a boy who had a transplant from his own stem cells (autologous) for Type1 Diabetes and Asperger’s Syndrome! -dg

Diabetes type 1 and the Cure – What I feel Are the Most Promising

I first wanted to hear if from a child’s perspective. Here it goes:

Mom: What do you feel is the cure for diabetes?

Gabriel: What I had done.

Mom: What did you have done?

Gabriel: Stem Cells from my body.

Mom: How do you feel?

Gabriel: Good. I thank God. I just hope that my anteebuddies don’t attack my new cells.

Mom: How about if one day your Endo gives you a sheet of paper and allowed to choose one to cure you. Let’s assume you were given these options. Which one would you choose?

1. Adult stem cell transplant (what you had done)

2. Artificial pancreas

3. Islet Cell Transplantation from a donor pancreas

4. Islet Sheet

5. Pig Islet Cell Transplant

6. Stem Cell Therapy Drug(from donor) via injections

I explained the above in child’s terminology.

Gabriel: I like #1. What I had done. I know what to expect and it didn’t hurt and it was safe. I am doing well.

Mom: Why not the others?

Gabriel: I don’t know about pigs in my body. I may become one. I don’t get it. I don’t want # 2 because I already wear an insulin pump and I don’t want more things on my body. I am full of holes and this is really not the cure. It’s just something better than the pump. I don’t know about the others.

Mom: How about #6.

Gabriel: It’s something like #1, but it’s from other people’s body not my own. I want my own body to go back into my body. Why can’t they do #6 with the person’s own body? Oh, on #4…..I don’t know if that sheet will melt or pop inside my body. Do I need to go back and get a new one? how do they get the sheet inside my body? Mommy, remember when we travel and we go through those bars at the airport and I take off my pump? Would the sheet inside my body make the security bar ring? and then I cannot take it off. How about when I go to the doctor and get X-rays will it explode the sheet? I don’t think I like #4.

Mom: Good questions and I don’t know the answer. I’m assuming it will be fine.

Mom: So, what are you going to do when you are cured?

Gabriel: I will close my eyes and look at the sky and raise my hands up really really high and thank God for no more insulin, no more counting carbs, no more backpack wherever I go! And then, and then, ummmm… I will have a bubble gum party. Yes! I will have a bubble gum party!

Mom: Who are you going to invite to the bubble gum party?

Gabriel: Everyone that wants to come.

Mom: Who will pay this big party?

Gabriel: hmmmmm..You and Dad. Maybe JDRF.

via Adult Stem Cells – Diabetes type1.

Stem Cells From Own Eyes Restore Vision to Blinded Patients, Study Shows – Bloomberg

In VICTORIES & SUCCESS STORIES on June 22, 2010 at 3:00 am

Stem Cells From Own Eyes Restore Vision to Blinded Patients, Study Shows

Patients blinded in one or both eyes by chemical burns regained their vision after healthy stem cells were extracted from their eyes and reimplanted, according to a report by Italian researchers at a scientific meeting.

Patient's Own Stem Cells Fix Damaged Eyes

The tissue was drawn from the limbus, an area at the junction of the cornea and white part of the eye. It was grown on a fibrous tissue, then layered onto the damaged eyes. The cells grew into healthy corneal tissue, transforming disfigured, opaque eyes into functioning ones with normal appearance and color, said researchers led by Graziella Pellegrini of the University of Modena’s Center for Regenerative Medicine.

The stem-cell treatment restored sight to more than three- quarters of the 112 patients treated, Pellegrini said yesterday in a presentation at the International Society for Stem Cell Research meeting. She estimated the work may benefit 1,000 to 2,000 patients in Europe whose eyes have been damaged by chemical burns and many more in developing countries where the use of chemicals is less regulated. Her patients were followed for an average of three years and some for as long as a decade…..

via Stem Cells From Own Eyes Restore Vision to Blinded Patients, Study Shows – Bloomberg.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,987 other followers

